Don’t do this: This agency’s approach to sales is no way to build trust

Do people actually respond to this cold calling tactic?

Mike Holden
3 min readMay 24, 2024

I’ve received a call from the same marketing services agency at least four times now; they may have called other times and I didn’t pick up.

Check out this deceptive tactic from their playbook. It’s an awful way to build trust with people.

Here’s how it went down with this marketing agency

The first time they called me, they asked me to book a meeting with their boss, a vice president with the agency, to discuss SEO and other areas where they could help me.

I let them know that I wasn’t interested in what they were offering.

The same person called me a week or two later and said we’d spoken recently, but that I’d been busy and couldn’t talk.

It took me a second to realize it was the company I’d previously said “no thanks” to. I corrected them and said they must be mistaken because I’d said I wasn’t interested.

That was the end of the second call.

Here’s when they hung up the phone on me

--

--

Mike Holden

Marketing leader with 20 years of experience. Dad of 6. Get ideas in the No Budget Marketing newsletter. https://bio.link/mikeholden